Aurora Borealis Tree of Life

I have been working away over here on all my new projects. Truth be told, it was kind of a hit and miss project weekend. Some went well, like my new tourmaline hoops, others, like my Tree of Life earrings… not so well.

When I get frustrated like I was, I tend to set things aside, and try something else. Often, that means a new tree.

A few weeks back, I accidently hit a special show at the bead store. Twas a painful trip. I went in for a piece of Tourmaline. One piece. Then…the shiny overwhelmed me and I broke the bank in my shiny trance that landed me things I’ve never seen before; Star Rubies, Black Labradorite that actually flashes, Pietersite cabochons and… other beyond amazing shinies.

*pets my precious*

One of the things I landed was about 3 of the most amazing Labradorite cabochons I’ve ever seen. The man said it was from Madagascar, which as it turns out, is said to be some of the best on the market. I didn’t know that at the time. All I knew was… OMG the pretty colors!!!!! Labradorite is one of the stones I won’t buy online. I’m a picky lil’ jewelry making grrl. Quality stones are vera important to me. Labradorite has the potential to go all wrong when I try the sight unseen thing.

Anyhoo, I managed to pick up some of his cabs for my trees. I just /had/ to make an aurora borealis with that Labradorite. In my frustration yesterday, I decided it was time. Time to bring my aurora borealis  from out of my head and make it something I could hold.

Behold! My redesigned Tree of Life Cabochon… Aurora Borealis.

Aurora Borealis ~ Sterling Silver & Madagascar Labradorite ToL

Aurora Borealis ~ Sterling Silver & Madagascar Labradorite ToL

It’s soooooo … flashy! Blue and green and even some gold.

I was in love with it. Then… I took it outside…

Aurora Borealis ~ Sterling Silver & Madagascar Labradorite ToL

…and it exploded with flash!

Aurora Borealis ~ Sterling Silver & Madagascar Labradorite ToL

Aurora Borealis ~ Sterling Silver & Madagascar Labradorite ToL

The stone is beyond amazing. Bey-OND.

I tried really hard to list it in the Etsy. Even got it all written up. But each time I looked at it, I noticed something else about it, making it even more amazing. A lot of it is actually transparent when held up to the light. You can’t tell though because of all the flash that just dances across the stone. All Aurora Borealis like. Sometimes, along with the green, blue and gold, some purple will appear. Inside it has some tiny rainbow inclusions, even some tiny gold … glitters or… something. Don’t know what’s up with those.

I’m uber in love. Totally hypnotized.

Spellbound.

I’ve never seen a Labradorite quite like it.

I took the listing back down. I’m not sure I can part with this one. I often say (with almost each new piece I think) this, THIS will be the one I may keep. I think I was lying before, because this… THIS may be the one I HAVE to keep.

I can’t wait to see what it looks like in the sun. I’ve not seen it in the sunlight yet. If I’m this floored by the stone, inside and outside on a cloudy day…

Oh, My. What’s it going to do in the sunlight? O.O

I can’t wait to see!

Well, there it is. My newly designed, full of uber flash…Aurora Borealis.

My favoritest tree evah.

😀

Leave a Reply

