New Book Bling Pendants, Trees and Projects

Wow, I’ve been awfully quiet over here. Seems I’ve not made any posts for over a week now. You’d think I wasn’t making anything. But… that’s totally not it. Actually, I’ve been making lots and lots of things.

Lots.And.Lots!

I’m pretty excited about it all actually. I’ve mentioned (I think) that I was commissioned by an author to make some promo pieces for some upcoming book releases. A book bling project. W00T! 5 whole pieces. And yaaaaay, It’s finally finished. Booooy howdy, I had a blast doing this one. I took a theme and/or element from each of the books and made a pendant for each. What I ended up with was…

Book Bling ~ The Lost Gods Series by Megan Derr

Tada! \o/

I used just about the whole spectrum for this bad boy. Silver, Bronze, Wrapping, Weaving, even some resin. I got to play with Rubies, Amethyst, Citrine, Dragon Blood, Serpentine and Montana Agate. Learned some new techniques, worked with new metals…good times with lots of shinnies. 😀

In the middle of all that, I made my own piece of book bling inspired by one of my favorite characters evah. It’s my Afghan Lapis Lazuli Tree of Life…

Official Vadim Krasnorada Tree of Life Pendant ~ Afghan Lapis Lazuli & Sterling Silver

… aka “The Official Vadim Krasnorada Tree of Life”.  Endorsed by the fantabulous Mr. Aleksandr Voinov, making it all… offical like. It lives in the Etsy shop. 🙂

Lots and lots of book bling.

I also made another new tree. A metaphysical tree, crafted for the stone’s properties…

It’s made with Tiger Eye, Hematite and Pyrite. 🙂

Speaking of Metaphysical trees… that’s one of my next projects. It’s actually always been the plan. Various jewelry crafted with various crystals and gemstone based not on a visual “Ooooooh shiny!” but the different properties of the stones. Well, with an end result of a visual “oooooooh shiny!” of course.

I’ve been working on updating the Crystals & Gemstones reference section of the blog, it’s rather slow going thou. I also have a couple of pieces in the works, can’t wait to finish them. 🙂

I’ve got several other projects going as well. I’m trying to find a way to turn the Tree of Life Pendants into Tree of Life Bracelets, and I’m redesigning the Cabochon Trees, and learning how to make filigree. There’s bullet jewelry, dog tag jewelry and, and, and… lots-o-new-stuff! 😀

Busy, busy, busy.

A busy jewel-er-ies grrl is a happy jewel-er-ies grrl.

Jewel-er-ies rock.

W00T!

3 thoughts on “New Book Bling Pendants, Trees and Projects

    • Thanks luv! I’m really excited about the new book bling pendants. That was hard. But oh/so/fun.

      And I’m uber pleased with Vadim’s tree. It’s one of my faves so far. lol but then… I say that every time I make a new one.

  1. Lovely, beautiful, cause to drool. I do love Vadim’s tree. You have such talent, honey. Love it. Hugs!!

Leave a Reply

