New Techniques ~ Oxidized Crystal Briolettes

Briolettes is something I’ve been struggling with since day one. Top drilled stones that no matter how hard I try I just can’t get them to come out like I want. Last week I bought some of the most beautiful faceted beads; Green Amethyst, Ametrine, and some smokey blue Chinese crystals… all top drilled.

Time to get the wrapping right.

I practiced for days on the crystals. I tried a tight, neat wrap and I tried a messy wrap. The neat wrap I can do, I just don’t much care for it. The messy wrap… that’s the one I like. It looks so easy. It’s so… not.

Practice, practice, practice… until finally…

Success.

May I present… my Smokey Blue, Messy Wrapped, Chinese Crystal Briolette…

Smokey Blue Briolette

Tada \o/

I did it! In silver even. 😀

Since I had so many from trying over and over I decided to try my hand at antiquing the silver. I’ve only done copper so far, I don’t like experimenting on the sterling. Gets expensive when it goes wrong. But, while holding my breath I went for it.

Smokey Blue Briolette ~ Oxidized

Success! I think I may even like it better than the shiny for this one. I even did the chain. 😀

Of course, once I figured out I could oxidize chain I got a little carried away and did LOTS of chain. I kinda forgot to leave some copper chain shiny. Oops. Copper chain that’s been antiqued looks cool thou.

Not sure I’m confident enough to try all of this on the Green Amethyst or the Ametrine yet, those are so expensive I’m nervous about harming their beautimus selves. But who knows. Maybe I’ll get brave and do one today. Never can tell.

Learning new things. Look at me go. W00T!

Leave a Reply

