New jewelry projects: Trees, Fossils, Chainmail & More

I’ve been trying really hard to complete some new jewelry projects this week. I think I have about 5 things going at once. Not sure if that’s good or bad lol.

I’m trying to redesign my Tree of Life pendants, learn new chainmail patterns and make some new necklaces.

I think I finally have a good handle on the new redesigned tree. I’m about 1/2 way done with one I’m so far very pleased with. I may even like it better than the first ones. It’s definitely less of a wire nightmare, the tangled mess the tree became with all the fine wire I was using was almost unmanageable. Each tree was days worth of a wrestling match I didn’t always win. Too much pulling my hair out, and too much wire wasting. More than a few entire trees went into the scrap pile.

Think I have put a whuppin’ on that finally. Won’t know for sure until I finish it, but it’s going well so far. Yay for that.

I managed to complete a couple of things in the meantime, get pics and list them and all that good stuff. Learned a new chainmail pattern and finished my bracelet late last night. It’s a mighty piece of mail πŸ™‚ Bigger than my first piece.

Byzantine Chainmail Bracelet

I also finished my fossil necklace finally.

Ammonite Fossil Necklace

I’m pleased with them. Vera. It tripped me out this morning when I was reading up on Ammonites and it clicked how old they were. Yes, fossils = old, but reading that they lived with the dinosaurs and went extinct 65 million years ago seriously tripped my trigger. I think that’s cool.

I made a dinosaur necklace. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

I’ve not made pages here for those yet. One of the things I have to get on doing is renaming myself. I got a nice threatening ‘cease and desist’ letter the other night from some corporate lawyer.Β So for now I just listed them in the Etsy shop.

Mother/daughter team of living room jewelry makers iz scary. πŸ˜‰

That’s all for now. Back to tree making for me. I really want to finish that baby today.

Wish me luck!

πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

